Outside the comfort zone

Let’s start this blog with a little diagram of how good things happen:

Image

As you can see the good things all happen way way outside your comfort zone and last night I was so far outside of my comfort zone that I couldn’t get comfortable if I’d been rolled in a duvet and massaged by new born ducklings.

I was doing a gong show. A gong show is a comedy show where each contestant gets five minutes to beat the gong, three audience members have cards and if they don’t like you they hold up the cards, when all three cards are up you are “gonged” off. Being gonged off can happen any time and can severely damage your self esteem.

As I have an ego that shatters on contact with criticism I have avoided these at all costs, mainly because the last one I did I cried for 20 minutes afterwards then ate a packet of custard creams.

Image

(THE PIE FILLS THE HOLES IN MY HEART LEFT BY MY FATHER! ARE YOU PROUD OF ME NOW DAD! ARE YOU PROUD!)

So to say I was a little surprised when I won the whole thing would be an understatement. Especially when all of the other acts were so good. I was in the last section and after watching everyone else except the last couple I was terrified. At this point I’d like to say that Elizabeth Hotson and Simon Ramsden are incredible acts and if you don’t see them now you’ll end up paying to see them at their arena tours so get in while you can.

Did the amazings end there? No they did not because who turned up to do a 30 min headline slot. Only Jack bloody Whitehall

Image

(After this photo Jack I’m going to kill you and wear your skin, hope you don’t mind)

and then he tweeted about it!

Image

so to say I had a pretty amazing evening is an understatement. On top of all of that a couple of promoters have offered me work based on my performance. I came home last night and just sat staring into space not exactly sure what had happened but I’m sure we can all agree it was something beautiful like Batman riding a Unicorn.

Image

(I AM A PRINCESS OF JUSTICE!)

3 thoughts on “Outside the comfort zone

Leave a Reply

