BBC New Comedy Award

It’s no secret that I hate comedy competitions. I think they have no place in any art really, I’m not trying to be better than other comedians I’m trying to be funny for audiences. Comedy competitions are usually (mostly) popularity competitions, how many friends you can bring is often the measure of success, and I am not interested in being popular with comedians. I’m not even interested in being popular with comedy critics or promoters. The only people I am interested in being popular with is my audience, in the end they’re all that matter.

shawn-audience

(Love you Steve)

However there is one competition I am entering and that is the BBC New Comedy awards. A lot of my friends have been successful in it in the past and I respect every single person that’s been in it. I’m 100% sure the outcome is pre decided on prior to anyone even entering however the event itself is well structured, the publicity respectable and generally the standard is extremely high so this year I’ve entered myself. Here is my entry for you to enjoy (or not as really you may not be MY audience but one day I hope you can be AN audience):

Leave a Reply

